Professor Adrian Gelb

Adrian Gelb.jpg

Adrian W Gelb MBChB, FRCPC, FRCA is Distinguished Professor (emeritus) in the Department of Anesthesia and Perioperative Care, University of California San Francisco (UCSF). He was the Vice Chair of the UCSF Anesthesia Department (2004-2011). Prior to that he was the Anesthesia Chair at Western University in Canada.

Professor Gelb has served as a leader in multiple national and international Anesthesia Societies having been the President of 3 societies. He is currently the Secretary of the World Federation of Societies of Anaesthesiologists (WFSA) and past chair of the Safety and Quality of Practice Committee. 
He is the author of >300 publications including 5 books. He has given > 400 invited lectures that include 17 named lectureships. He is an honorary professor at 3 universities and has received multiple awards for Teaching, Research & Mentorship.

Professor PJ Devereaux

PJ Devereux.jpg

Professor Devereaux is a cardiologist and has a PhD in clinical epidemiology.  He is the Director of the Division of Perioperative Care at McMaster University. He is the Associate Deputy Director of the Population Health Research Institute.  He is also the Scientific Leader of the Anesthesiology, Perioperative Medicine, and Surgical Research Group at the Population Health Research Institute.  

Professor Devereaux is a full Professor and University Scholar in the Departments of Health Research Methods, Evidence, and Impact (HEI) and Medicine at McMaster University.  He has published >325 peer reviewed papers and >80 book chapters and editorials.  He is supported by a Tier 1 Canadian Research Chair in Perioperative Medicine.

Dr Carl Waldmann

Carl Waldmann photo.jpg

Carl Waldmann has been a Consultant in ICM and Anaesthesia at the Royal Berkshire Hospital in Reading since joining as Director of ICU in 1986.  Apart from his interests in the management of Head Injured patients in a DGH, the procurement and implementation of a Clinical Information System in ICU, his main passion has been the setting up and running of an ICU Follow-up clinic in Reading, where he sees around 100 new patients annually.  He was a member of ICS Council until May 2006, where his main duties were as Hon.  Treasurer and Chair of the Meetings Committee.  From May 2007 to May 2009 he was President of the ICS.  He was the Editor of Care of the Critically Ill and until 2004 the Editor of JICS.  In 2011 he became Co-Editor of JICS with Neil Soni. Carl was also  Chair of the section of Technology assessment and Health Informatics (TAHI) of the European Society of Intensive Care Medicine until 2008 and in 2012 became the UK representative on the ESICM council.  He wa a member of the PACT editorial board and recently was editor of the Oxford Desk Reference textbook and also co-editor on the Law and Ethics in Intensive Care textbook.  In 2010, Carl was invited to be a founding member of the Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine (FICM) Board for which he was Chair of the Professional Standards Committee. In October 2013, Carl was elected Vice-Dean  and in 2016 he became Dean of the Faculty of Intensive care Medicine. He was  elected as the Treasurer of the ESICM. 2015-2018.

Carl has been elected 2019 to be Chair of the Critical Care Leadership Forum (CCLF) which ensures all national medical, nursing and Allied Health professional organisations involved in Critical Care are regularly engaged with each other to ensure a unified approach to the Care of the Critically ill patients nationwide.


Professor Guy Ludbrook

Guy Ludbrook.jpg

Professor Ludbrook is a practicing clinician, with an interest in neuroanaesthesia and postoperative care.
He has published extensively in the peer-reviewed literature, and has received approximately $12M in research funding. His current areas of focus include health systems analysis and development of new medicines.

He is Director of PARC Clinical Research, an early phase clinical trials unit of new medicines and medical devices, with current activity in new: analgesics, local anaesthetics, anaesthetic agents, antianxiety drugs, Alzheimers drugs, Parkinsons’ drugs, MS drugs, and Cancer drugs. 
He is involved in regulation of medicines and medical devices, though membership of, and advice to, TGA Committees.

He is a postgraduate student at London School of Economics.  

Professor Rinaldo Bellomo

Renaldo Bellomo.jpg

Professor Rinaldo Bellomo, AO, MBBS, MD, PhD, FCICM, FRACP, FAAHMS is Professor of Intensive Care Medicine with the University of Melbourne, Honorary Professor of Medicine with Monash University, Principal Research Fellow, Howard Florey Institute, University of Melbourne, Director of Intensive Care Research and Staff Specialist in Intensive Care at the Austin Hospital, Melbourne. He is the Co-chair of the Australian and New Zealand Intensive Care Research Centre. He is Editor in Chief of Critical Care and Resuscitation. He has authored > 1300 PubMed cited papers and >150 book chapters and has delivered >300 national and international lectures. For the last 6 years he has been in the list of most cited investigators in clinical medicine in the world (Thomson-Reuters). In 2014, he was selected as one of the most outstanding scientific minds in the world for the previous decade (Thomson-Reuters).  

Contact Us

Perioperative Surgical Home
Workshop Organisers

Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre

305 Grattan Street, Melbourne

Phone +61 3 9510 6299

E: events@anzca.edu.au